How to work with package in MemoryStream

Feb 9, 2010 at 6:37 PM

First, let me just say how much I appreciate this incredible piece of work.  I'm a junior developer who just finished creating two very complex Excel exports using the OpenXML SDK.  I'm delighted to see your new API become available and imagine that I can rewrite everything in a short amount of time.

Again, I regret any noobie questions but need to do a reality check.  Can I use ExtremeML to work with packages in memory?  I'm building a server app and the users must decide where to store their docs.  If so, could you give me a hint?  I need to know for sure that I can do so before proceeding.  I think I've got everything else figured out but that.

Here's the code from my original solution:

byte[] sourceBytes = File.ReadAllBytes(@"C:\path\ApproachTemplate.xlsx");
        MemoryStream stream = new MemoryStream();
        stream.Write(sourceBytes, 0, (int)sourceBytes.Length);

using (myWorkbook = SpreadsheetDocument.Open(stream, true))
        {

Thanks tons.  All of my initial tests have worked without any problems whatsoever.  Great work and tons of thanks!

~Karuna

Coordinator
Feb 10, 2010 at 6:35 AM

Hello Karuna,

Many thanks for your kind words – positive feedback like that is always welcome.

As a general reply to your question, you can achieve with ExtremeML anything that can be achieved with the OpenXML SDK, because ExtremeML is simply a wrapper around the SDK.

However, in certain situations (and I suspect this is one of them), you might need to extend ExtremeML by modifying the source code.